ATM Àrea de Barcelona Autoritat del Transport Metropolità

PRESS RELEASE

The ATM approves the new names of 21 railway stations

- The names of 20 stations on the Metro, FGC, Rodalies (suburban railway) and TRAM networks are to change
- Santa Perpètua de Mogoda will have a new station that will be called Santa Perpètua de Mogoda Riera de Caldes

The ATM has approved new names for railway stations, following the recommendations of its Naming Commission. This commission brings together transport administrations and operators in order to coordinate names in the public transport network. It is advised by the Institut d'Estudis Catalans (Catalan Studies Institute) and listens to the opinions of all the administrations involved in each proposal.

In addition to deciding on the names of the new stations, the ATM has started a process to revise the current names, which has 2 objectives:

- 1. To give meaning to the entire public rail network as an integrated system, so that:
 - a. Connecting stations have the same name, even if they are run by different operators.
 - b. There are no two non-linked stations with the same name.

The aim is to avoid confusion among users. Different names for non-linked stations and the same names for linked stations.

2. To ensure the names of certain stations better match the reality of their locations, especially if there are municipal reasons or demands from local people.

Applying these criteria, the latest approved names are:

- 1. Unification of the names of intermodal stations:
 - 1.1. Fabra i Puig Metro station and Sant Andreu Arenal Rodalies station will be unified as **Fabra i Puig**. So, the name of the Rodalies station is to change.
 - 1.2. Sant Andreu Metro station and Sant Andreu Comtal Rodalies station will be unified as **Sant Andreu**. So, the name of the Rodalies station is to change.
 - 1.3. Clot Metro station and Clot-Aragó Rodalies station will be unified as **El Clot**. So, both names are to change.
 - 1.4. Terrassa Estació del Nord FGC station and Terrassa Rodalies station will be unified as **Terrassa Estació del Nord**. So, the name of the Rodalies station is to change.
 - 1.5. Martorell Central FGC station and Martorell Rodalies station will be unified as **Martorell Central**. So, the name of the Rodalies station is to change.
 - 1.6. Torre Baró | Vallbona Metro station and Torre Baró Rodalies station will be unified as **Torre Baró | Vallbona**. So, the name of the Rodalies station is to change.
- 2. Differentiation of non-linked stations:
 - 2.1. Bellvitge Metro station and Rodalies station will be renamed **Bellvitge Rambla Marina** and **Bellvitge | Gornal** respectively.



PRESS RELEASE

- 2.2. Rubí FGC station and Rodalies station will be renamed **Rubí Centre** and **Rubí Can Vallhonrat** respectively.
- 2.3. Sant Cugat FGC station and Rodalies station will be renamed **Sant Cugat Centre** and **Sant Cugat Coll Favà** respectively.
- 2.4. Santa Perpètua de Mogoda Rodalies station will be renamed Santa Perpètua de Mogoda La Florida. The new Rodalies station that is to open in Santa Perpètua will be called Santa Perpètua de Mogoda Riera de Caldes.
- 3. Matching the names to the reality of their locations:
 - 3.1. The Drassanes Metro station will be renamed La Rambla | Drassanes.
 - 3.2. The Vall d'Hebron Metro station will be renamed Vall d'Hebron | Sant Genís.
 - 3.3. The Llucmajor Metro station will be renamed **Llucmajor | República**.
 - 3.4. The Congrés Metro station will be renamed **Congrés | Indians**.
 - 3.5. The Wellington Tram stop will be renamed Wellington | UPF.

In short, the above changes ordered by operator are as follows:

RAILWAY STATIONS

Current name	NEW NAME	Operator
Rubí	Rubí Centre	FGC
Sant Cugat	Sant Cugat Centre	FGC
Bellvitge	Bellvitge Rambla Marina	FMB
Drassanes	La Rambla Drassanes	FMB
Clot	El Clot	FMB
Congrés	Congrés Indians	FMB
Llucmajor	Llucmajor República	FMB
Vall d'Hebron	Vall d'Hebron Sant Genís	FMB
Bellvitge	Bellvitge Gornal	Rodalies ADIF
Clot-Aragó*	El Clot	Rodalies ADIF
Martorell	Martorell Central	Rodalies ADIF
Rubí	Rubí Can Vallhonrat	Rodalies ADIF
Sant Andreu Arenal*	Fabra i Puig	Rodalies ADIF
Sant Andreu Comtal*	Sant Andreu	Rodalies ADIF
Sant Cugat del Vallès	Sant Cugat Coll Favà	Rodalies ADIF
Sant Martí de Centelles	Sant Martí de Centelles - Aiguafreda	Rodalies ADIF
Santa Perpètua de Mogoda	Santa Perpètua de Mogoda La Florida	Rodalies ADIF
(future station)	Santa Perpètua de Mogoda Riera de Caldes	Rodalies ADIF
Terrassa	Terrassa Estació del Nord	Rodalies ADIF
Torre del Baró*	Torre Baró Vallbona	Rodalies ADIF
Wellington	Wellington UPF	TRAM

^{*} Stations within the municipality of Barcelona will be named internally by the operator Rodalies de Catalunya - Renfe by adding *Barcelona* in front of the names. For example: Barcelona Clot-Aragó will be renamed Barcelona El Clot.

The names in the signage and information material will be replaced gradually, making the most of any synergies with other actions so as to minimise costs.